2024 Trauma Symposium Speakers

Carlos H. Palacio, MD, FACS

Course Director

Dr. Palacio is the Director of Research for the trauma program and Director for the Advanced Trauma and Life Support course at STHS McAllen. He is also the local Program Director of the General Surgery Residency at the Valley Health System GME Consortium, and an instructor for the American College of Surgeons Stop the Bleeding class.

Rachel Appelbaum MD

Rachel Appelbaum, is an Assistant Professor of Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center as part of the Division of Acute Care Surgery. She completed her Medical School education at the University of South Florida, Morsani College of Medicine. Dr. Appelbaum is board certified in General Surgery and Surgical Critical Care.

Jay Doucet, CD, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FACS, RDMS

Jay Doucet is Chief, Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns & Acute Care Surgery. He is Medical Director for Emergency Preparedness and Response. He is also in the Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns & Acute Care Surgery, University of California San Diego.

Robert D. Greenberg, MD, FACEP

Robert D. Greenberg is the Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Emergency Services, Central Texas Division of Baylor Scott & White Health and Associate Professor for Texas A&M Health Sciences Center College of Medicine in Temple, Texa

Jennifer Hartwell MD, FACS

Dr. Jennifer Hartwell is an Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Kansas Medical Center where she serves as the Section Chief of Emergency General Surgery.

David E. Meyer, MD, MS, FACS

David Meyer is Assistant Professor At the Department of Surgery | Acute Care Surgery McGovern Medical School at UTHealth. He is a Life Flight Assistant Medical Director Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center Houston, TX.


Alan H. Tyroch, M.D., FACS, FCCM

Alan H. Tyroch is Professor and founding Chair of the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine’s Department of Surgery. Dr. Tyroch is also Chief of Surgery and Trauma Medical Director at University Medical Center of El Paso, Texas.


Tanya Zakrison, MD, FACS

Tanya Liv Zakrison is a Professor of Surgery at the Department of Surgery at the University of Chicago Medicine and Biological Sciences.


Nicole Meredyth MD, HEC-C

Nicole Meredyth is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care at Northwestern Medicine. Dr. Meredyth is currently the Associate Program Director for the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Northwestern Medicine and is an active member of the Hospital Ethics Committee.


Paul Thomas Albini, MD, FACS

Dr. Paul Thomas Albini, is an Acute Care Surgeon, at the Riverside University Health System, Loma Linda University, and UC Riverside. He is an Assistant Professor, Associate Trauma Medical Director, and Assistant Program Director, holding degrees from Cornell and SUNY Buffalo, with extensive training and numerous publications in trauma and surgical care.


Marc Trust, MD, FACS

Marc Trust is an acute care surgeon and Surgical ICU Medical Director, Surgical Critical Care Program Director, and Associate Trauma Medical Director at Dell Seton Medical Center in Austin, TX. He completed his medical degree at UTMB, general surgery residency at Dell Medical School, and fellowship in surgical critical care at Los Angeles County + University of Southern California Medical Center.